Arriving Visitors

  • North Africa and the Middle East
  • Armenia & Azerbaijan
  • Senegal

Upcoming Events

Get Involved


Community Calendar

March, 2013

Add an event to our calendar!

World News

Turning It Down: Cities Combat Light Pollution By Going Dim

Blast Targets Shiites In Pakistan; Dozens Killed

Britain's Queen Hospitalized With Apparent Stomach Ailment

Miles From Home, Syrians Vote In Free Elections

Anxiety Befalls Vatican As Cardinals Gather


American Marshall Memorial Fellowship

IAC is the key North Carolina point of contact for the American Marshall Memorial Fellowship, a program of the German Marshall Fund of the United States. The American Marshall Memorial Fellowship (AMMF) provides a unique opportunity for young policy and opinion leaders from the United States to gain an in-depth understanding of societies, institutions and peoples across the Atlantic. During the three to four week traveling program, Fellows develop a broad knowledge of political, economic, cultural and social issues in their host countries through meetings with city officials, school teachers, police officers, government officials, business leaders, labor organizers, farmers, activists, religious leaders, academics and members of the community who open their homes to Fellows.

North Carolina Marshall Memorial Fellows

Mary Barr, Jimmie Johnson Foundation, Charlotte
Tony Caravano, Compass Group, Raleigh
Roland McReynolds, Carolina Farm Stewardship

Ray Starling, North Carolina Department of Agriculture, Raleigh
Cynthia O'Neal, Office of the Lieutenant Governor, Raleigh
Nicole Hurd, National College Advising Corps, Chapel Hill
Kristen Hess, HH Architecture, Raleigh

Steven D. Pearson, IBM, Research Triangle Park
John Quinterno, South by North Strategies, Ltd., Chapel Hill
Anna F. Schleunes, City of Charlotte
Kristy Teskey, Bank of America Foundation, Charlotte
Randy Voller, Town of Pittsboro

Jennifer Algire, Community Health Services, Charlotte
David L. Howard, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Housing Partnership
Kevin Hicks, RBC Bank, Wilmington
Brooks Raiford, North Carolina Technology Association, Raleigh

Natalie English, Charlotte Chamber of Commerce
Jamie Lathan, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham
Mujeeb Shah-Khan, City of Charlotte
Ted Teague, Novant Health, Inc., Winston-Salem

Cal Cunningham, Winston-Salem
Isaac Lake, New Schools Project, Raleigh
Sam Matheny, News Over Wireless (Capitol Broadcasting Company), Raleigh
Jeff Merritt, Clancy & Theys, Raleigh

Aaron Bailey, Smith Debnam Narron Wyche Saintsing & Myers, L.L.P., Raleigh
Brian Buzby, North Carolina Conservation Network, Raleigh
Dylan Holmes, MediTecture Corporation, Charlotte
Don McCorquodale, SAS, Cary

Drupti Chauhan, North Carolina General Assembly - Research Division, Raleigh
Jeff Michael, Charlotte Urban Institute, UNC-Charlotte
Ruffin Poole, Raleigh
Greg Walker-Wilson, Mountain Microenterprise Fund, Asheville

Sondra Artis, State of North Carolina, Raleigh
Anita Brown-Graham, Emerging Issues Forum, Raleigh
Satana DeBerry, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Raleigh
Donald Jonas, Foundation for the Carolinas, Charlotte

Hilary Coman, The Coman Company, Charlotte
Tracy O. Russ, Russ Communications Group, Charlotte
Jay Jyoti Chaudhuri, North Carolina State Treasurer's Office, Raleigh
Dudley Watts, Forsyth County Manager
Mike Rhoades, RHA Healthcare Services, Wilmington

Holly Welch, Foundation for the Carolinas, Charlotte
Rajeev Narayan, Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology & Science, Raleigh
Diego Anselmo, Char-Meck Police Department, Charlotte

Vandana Shah, Raleigh
Mary Fant Donnan, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, Winston-Salem
Yvette Regina Sayles, Elite Delivery Service, Charlotte

Grace Dzidzienyo, Office of Economic and Employment Development, Durham
Emily Felt, North Carolina Department of Agriculture, Raleigh
Andy Anderson, Community Innovations, Whiteville